Media Library

News Releases

President Higgins appoints Chief Justice

Date: Fri 28th Jul, 2017 | 19:09

At the request of the Government and in accordance with Article 35.1 of the Constitution, President Michael D. Higgins today appointed the Hon. Mr. Justice Frank Clarke as Chief Justice of Ireland and President of the Supreme Court. 

Also in attendance at the ceremony at Áras an Uachtaráin were An Taoiseach, Mr. Leo Varadkar T.D., Attorney General, Seamus Woulfe SC, Minister for Justice & Equality, Mr. Charles Flanagan, Secretary General to the President, Mr. Art O'Leary and Secretary General to the Government, Mr. Martin Fraser.